Google’s squeeze of Oyster suggests ebooks, like news, are apropos “content …

September 22, 2015 - Kindle Unlimited

Check out 4 things that have happened in a ebook universe in usually a past integrate months:

— Amazon announced that, for a self-published titles in a Kindle Unlimited subscription program, it’s going to compensate authors by a series of pages read, rather than by a borrow.

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.

— Ebook sales continue to drop. They forsaken any month for a initial 5 months of 2015 (the many new month that data’s accessible from a AAP); for that duration in total, adult ebook sales are down 3.2 percent compared to 2014, while immature adult ebook sales (think books like Hunger Games and Divergent, that have a outrageous adult crossover audience) are down 43.3 percent.

Way some-more people are reading ebooks on phones, while dedicated e-reader use is falling. “The destiny of digital reading is on a phone,” Judith Curr, publisher of Simon Schuster’s Atria, told The Wall Street Journal final month. “It’s going to be on a phone and it’s going to be on paper.”

— On Monday, ebook subscription site Oyster announced that it’s shutting down — atonement me, it is going to “sunset…over a subsequent several months.” Then Recode reported, and Google confirmed, that Google has hired many of a employees.

cat-powerGoogle’s exchange with Oyster are more than an acquihire, though. I’m conference that Google acquired Oyster’s assets, including a tech, a find tools, and a editorial calm — that includes The Oyster Review, a online literary repository run by Kevin Nguyen, who assimilated Oyster from Amazon in 2014.

Here’s what Google has not acquired: Oyster’s contracts with publishers. This understanding doesn’t meant Google is building out a possess ebook subscription use (or is meddlesome in doing so). Instead, Google is meddlesome in bringing Oyster’s unequivocally good mobile reading experience, and book-related editorial content, to Google Play.

library-ccWith Oyster’s demise, there are dual ebook subscription services left standing: Scribd, that has finished cutbacks to a use in new months, and Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited. It’s never good to be a usually one left subsequent to Amazon.

The business indication that Scribd and Oyster used to get large publishers to pointer on — one in that a publisher was paid, essentially, an ebook’s full indiscriminate cost when a reader finished usually a apportionment of it — doesn’t seem to be sustainable, generally when a business peaceful to compensate a prosaic monthly price are also those who review a lot. There wasn’t most downside for publishers to try it out, yet little companies like Scribd and Oyster can’t eat those waste indefinitely, so during some indicate their business indication has to change in sequence for them to survive. That’s when we get something like Kindle Unlimited, that works on a totally opposite indication that is approach reduction appealing to publishers and authors.

The bulk of a ebooks on Kindle Unlimited are by self-published authors who have concluded to make those ebooks disdainful to Amazon for a duration that they’re enclosed in a program. The authors are paid out of a set pool of money, a volume of that is set during Amazon’s option any month — and again, starting this summer, a authors are usually paid by a series of pages read, that means that in many cases they’re creation a fragment of a cent per read. This isn’t a good understanding for many authors (and copiousness of them protest about it) yet it’s a flattering good understanding for Amazon and for readers.

Any claims that Oyster unsuccessful since it didn’t have adequate good calm to review skip a point. Oyster had copiousness of good calm to review (even if it wasn’t code new), yet it was too good a understanding for a publishers (and for business who review a lot) to be a tolerable business. Ebook subscription can work, maybe, if it’s finished a approach Amazon is doing it: With little payments for authors, corroborated by a hulk association that can indeed also means to take a detriment on a module (though we have no explanation that Amazon is holding a detriment on Kindle Unlimited). But it appears that it can’t be finished in a approach that is quite appealing to publishers of large obvious titles.

So Oyster joins a line of other promising-seeming ebook startups — Readmill (acquired by Dropbox in 2014), Push Pop Press (acquired by Facebook in 2011) — that were acquired by large companies not since they specialized in books yet since they had good mobile reading tech that can be used to review any arrange of content, not usually books. It creates Oyster demeanour flattering prophetic for focusing so tough on a record and mobile reading knowledge (as it did from launch — and that was certainly one of a categorical reasons it raised $17 million from large VCs), since differently a company’s exit would usually mount as a pitch of a fact that ebook subscriptions don’t work.

As it is, cruise this merger a pitch of a fact that large tech companies are meditative of ebooks reduction as dissimilar units that are bought and sole (or subscribed to) as particular objects, and some-more as pieces of calm that exist alongside a whole lot of other calm being review on mobile phones. If a ebook business indication hasn’t held up, that doesn’t unequivocally matter to Google, that finds value in Oyster in annoy of a books. Amazon is off in another direction, attempting to emanate a subscription height that cuts publishers out entirely.

Push things over forward, though, and demeanour during a several equipment that once accompanied ebooks to make them seem “special”: Those are now descending away. Special ebook apps are being slurped adult for their tech; ebook subscriptions don’t work; people are shopping fewer ebooks, and they’re reading a ones that they are shopping not on e-readers yet on their phones, alongside a ton of other competing calm that is formatted for mobile and that is in many cases free. When we cruise all this, it looks flattering foolish to launch any kind of startup around ebooks.

Good thing publishers still have imitation — and that print book sales were adult in 2014.

source ⦿ http://www.niemanlab.org/2015/09/googles-grab-of-oyster-suggests-ebooks-like-news-are-becoming-content-read-on-big-platforms/

More kindle ...

› tags: Kindle Unlimited /